SEA Elections 2017

2017 Election Results

State Council Run Off Election - September 2017

Office: State Council Representative


Term: Three (3) Years, beginning 14 September 2017 (date

of election); ending 25 June 2020.                  Number of Seats Contested: 2

Total Ballots Cast: 436

Blank Ballots: 2

Illegal Ballots: 32

Legal Ballots Cast: 402

Votes Needed to Win: >201

Candidate Votes Received

Erica DiBello-Hitta 301 Wins seat.

Jason Leichter 244 Wins seat.

Gretel Rodriguez 218

Affirmed to president by:

James Love, Elections Committee Chair

Kimberly Edmonds, Committee Member

Benjamin Cassel, Committee Member 14 September 2017.



May 2017 Election

First I want to thank the Election Committee's Gina Vattone, Kim Edmonds, and Christina Fax-Huckaby for their time and hard work in counting and totaling the ballots. I also want to thank all those who stepped up and ran for office and of course I want to congratulate the winners.

Gene Chavira

The results are:

President (2017-2019)

Gene Chavira 

Vice President (2017-2019)

Colleen Cooke-Salas 

State Council (2017-2020)

Seat B – Julie Walker 

Seat C – Run off election TBA

Seat D –  

Run off election TBA

At-Large Seat C (2017-2020)

Robert Farrell 

Elections for the  Executive Board of the Sweetwater Education Association will be held in April. All Declaration of Candidacy forms must be turned in to the South County Teachers United Office, 2061 Tierra del Rey, Ste. 100, Chula Vista, CA 91910 no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 15, 2017

2017 Executive Board Election Timeline

Declaration of Candidacy Form (download and fill in copy)

Do you like this page?